Meaningless?

Well, if everything is meaningless then why get up in the morning?  Why should we ever leave our safe, cozy, and warm bed to go outside and face this new day?  Instead of feeling guilty about sitting around in my PJ’s all day, not bothering to dress, or even wash face, comb hair, dare I say even brush my teeth,  well why should I?  It is all meaningless!?

Well then now I understand why I see people walking around in their pajama’s and hair uncombed, looking like they just rolled out of bed, at least they did that, so they could venture into the world for the rest of us to see them, looking so “I don’t care” because it doesn’t mean anything anyway.

So, maybe it is me then, because when I look at them, it means something to me…..maybe it was a f— it kind of day for them, or just in a hurry, had emergency situation, house was on fire?  I go through all kinds of rituals and time wasters daily just to get out the door, when I don’t have to go to work, and I have no plans to leave the house, I am quite hideous…..amazing how much different I am when just hanging at home.

It can’t be meaningless though…..we feel a certain way by what we see, don’t we?  If I look good, I feel good, if I get my hair cut/colored, and have a manicure, I feel like……something!  When someone looks at me afterwards they usually complement me, or smile as I pass them, treat me well, as in opening door for me, making conversation, all of this is meaningful, it means I left an impression.

These activities of daily living are just one area of our lives that has meaning.  I am a nurse, as one I have assisted, educated, and guided others in their activities of daily living, they are an important aspect in the hierarchy of needs, basic necessities of life, gives life meaning, makes us feel better, even gives us hope, we feel better, things will be better….let me go out there and make a difference, everyday, if even just for myself, perhaps someone else, I made them smile, I took the time to make them feel important, significant.

Meaningless?  Nothing is meaningless, even in death, this also has meaning.   If you believe death is not the end, but just a change from your physical self…….everything has meaning, maybe I make too much of some things, but I’d rather do that than do nothing, even doing nothing has meaning though, and it does have ramifications.

Do what feels right, and correct for you, nothing is meaningless, everything is going to have an effect on someone, or something.  “Just do it until the doing gets done”, as it has been said.  There is always something to do, we just have to feel it is important enough to do it….everything, even getting dressed in the morning,  and having faith….that is meaningful to me.

About rsrwrn2014

Married, RN x 30+ years, fashion in a bathrobe lifestyle resulted from my lifestyle outside of work. Although I love fashion, beauty, and all things style related, the major portion of my days don't allow for fashion/style. I wear nursing uniforms, and sneakers mostly. I love make-up, clothes, hairstyles/color so much......I'm a frustrated fashionista. I blog to talk about my thoughts on being fashionable, and I find pleasure in all things that are designed to make us feel more beautiful.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

